Tea Leaf Readings

5 Stars

This is wonderful March 26, 2014

Lynne N

Findlay, OH

This thing is nice for full leaf tea. I use it to brew a single cup with about a teaspoon of tea and it allows the leaves to totally unfurl.

5 Stars

Love it December 27, 2013

Judy D

Gloversville, NY

I've had one of these for years and had forgotten where I got it. Found a new one yesterday at Kitchen Kapers and was delighted. It doesn't fit all of my mugs, but fits several of them perfectly and fits my tea pot. I use it all of the time and now plan to give some as gifts. So happy to have a source.

5 Stars

A great gadget December 26, 2013

Jessica

Quincy, IL

These brew baskets work much better than the old tea balls. I have one at work, two or three at home, and I always include them with any gift of tea.

2 Stars

Falls in cup October 03, 2013

Steven Z.

Richmond, VA

Works fine in small mugs, but lacks "ears" for larger mugs (thus, the infuser falls in and sinks to the bottom). The plastic infuser is hard to clean, the tea leaves tend to stick to the mesh and don't easily wash out under running water. I have a Finum Brewing Basket (made of metal mesh) which is very nice. It has none of the defects that this one has.

5 Stars

Works Great January 22, 2013

Tom Chenault

Austin, TX

Works great as advertised. I have both the plastic and the Stainless. The Plastic seems to be just a little finer mesh. Although I have had no problems with it, I ordered the stainless as an extra as it might be more durable for daily use. Both work great, no problems.

3 Stars

Nice, but January 14, 2013

Beth

St. Paul, MN

I've been experimenting with these baskets. The plastic ones are lovely, but they stain and warp easily. The stainless steel one rusts even when washed and dried right away. I like the shape of the stainless steel one better than the plastic because it is a bit wider (to sit on the lip of the cup). I wish I was more pleased - the idea is great . . .

5 Stars

a perfect mate for the brew basket January 02, 2013

Daryel Nance

Houston, TX

If you have problems with the diameter of the stainless Republic of Tea Brew Basket consider using it in the classic Starbucks 12 oz. ceramic thermal mug - a ceramic copy of their original white paper "tall" cup. Its as if they were made for each other - thus you have a portable 12 oz tea pot and thermal tea mug with lid to-go!

5 Stars

Wow - I love this! December 11, 2012

Kay Hickman

Wichita Falls, TX

I have bought three of these so we all can have tea at the same time. I got the wire ones, and they fit so well right into the top of every cup I have. 5 Stars is all I can give it. It doesn't let me do 10 stars!

5 Stars

A fix to being too narrow. November 10, 2012

Nate

,

Some of you wrote in to say that the basket falls into the mug. I found that as well with my stainless version. My fix to that is to leave a spoon in the mug (positioned such that it forms a diagonal between the top of the mug and the opposite bottom) while the tea is steeping. The basket gets wedged between the spoon and the wall of the mug and does not have room to tip over. A bonus to this is that I use the spoon to press the tea when it is done infusing to get a little more tea "essence" out of it. I hope this helps. I really like my basket. I use it routinely to brew tea at home and it worked great while backpacking on Isle Royale this summer.

1 Star

useless September 25, 2012

km

brooklyn, NY

I bought the stainless steel version to round out my shopping cart for fre shipping. It is useless, like all strainers of this design. They must hook over the side of a mug somehow to work, and remain stable. If you had some mug or teapot with a slightly narrower opening than the strainer, it might work so I can only conclude this is for use in a tea pot only. I suggested they change the description, or provide photos of successful use with a mug.

5 Stars

July 14, 2012

Lori

Rio Hondo, TX

I love the nylon basket too; the only criticism I have is that I can't find any container to store it in. That leaves it vulnerable when I'm not using it, like getting crushed--not to mention risking exposure (contamination). Could you guys create a sturdy box for it, nothing fancy that would add to the expense, rather than the open sleeve thingy you send it in?

5 Stars

Wonderful Item June 09, 2012

Trish

Placerville, CA

This Brew Basket is great for brewing just about any type of tea, but is especially good with whole leaf teas. It's big enough for the leaves to open up fully. It fits my smaller tea mugs just right and is easy enough to clean.

5 Stars

Polymesh Nylon is the Best June 09, 2012

MJ

Bradenton, FL

I'd first purchased the stainless version of this, which surprisingly rusted on first use, and got worse with each subsequent use. I ordered the polymesh nylon hoping it would be usable, as I liked the overall concept. It's GREAT. Should have ordered this version the first time around. Easy to clean, and the mesh is pourous enough to let the great tea flavor through, but keeps the leaves in their place. Very happy with this version.

1 Star

Rusted with 1st use May 29, 2012

MJ

Bradenton, FL

I purchased the stainless steel version of this for my husband. The first use and washing it rusted. I'm ordering the polymesh this time, hoping for better quality.

4 Stars

Great Brew Basket April 30, 2012

Cheryl

Eaton Rapids, MI

This brew basket is very well constructed, however, it didn't fit my teapot.

1 Star

Falls in March 26, 2012

Jessica

Castle Rock, CO

This nylon brew basket is a great concept poorly executed. There are no tabs on the narrow rim so if you have a cup that happens to be the right size, great. Otherwise it just falls in. I love a generous mug of tea, and don't even own a cup small enough to work with this brew basket.

5 Stars

This is my second People's Brew Basket March 10, 2012

Kateri

Petoskey, MI

I had forgotten that I bought my first Brew Basket at Republic of Tea. I was so excited to see it on the website when I placed my last tea order. This is the best tea infuser on the market as far as I am concerned. It doesn't alter the taste like metal, it let's the tea flow freely. The mesh is nice and tight, so nothing escapes it. It also cleans up like a dream. Easy to pop one in the suitcase or purse for your loose tea brewing on the run. I will buy these as gifts this Christmas for my many tea lovers.

5 Stars

Excellent infuser February 03, 2012

Sky

Omaha, NE

This infuser works great. Even with very fine teas I only see a couple of tiny specks in the bottom of the cup.

4 Stars

February 02, 2012

, MT

I have both wire and mesh. I prefer the nylon for the finer loose leaf teas. It keeps more of the fine particles out. I like the wire one for my larger leaf teas.

4 Stars

Needs a wider rim January 02, 2012

Wes

Clovis, NM

Very nice. I got the metal mesh version. I don't detect a big difference in flavor using this brew basket with loose tea as opposed to infusers..but a big difference in aroma! Wonderful! I wish the rim were wider so it would set on top of my mugs rather than fall into them.

5 Stars

wonderful! December 24, 2011

Anna

, NJ

Keeps all of the finer leaves out of your cup.

3 Stars

For SMALL cups only~ December 07, 2011

Kathleen

Dayton, OH

Wonderful for small 6-10oz traditional tea cups - just fill, steep, dump and rinse! Unfortunately completely unusable in everyday size(coffee) 12-14oz cups...falls into the bottom and doesn't rise with the water level, also will not float on top after pouring cup full, I tried everything I could think of. And I love me some ZZZZZ's tea at bedtime-a full mug!

5 Stars

Finally found it! November 19, 2011

Rob

Puget Sound, WA

Bought one of these (nylon version) locally many years ago. When it finally started to fall apart, I started looking for a replacement. After much searching, this is it! It's the perfect tea brewing basket. I got 2 (I'll probably leave one to my kids).

3 Stars

too small October 30, 2011

Julie H

Cincinnati, OH

I just got this and it is very small -- It doesn't fit my tea mugs -- I have tried to use it and just brew with not a lot of water and the plastic is hard to get out when it is done brewing -- it is very hot -- I would get a bigger size to fit a mug --

2 Stars

Nice Quality, Too Small September 30, 2011

Rebecca

, IL

The quality of the mesh is wonderful, however this basket is too small to fit even my smallest mug or tea cup. Unless you are using tiny tea cups, I would recommend going for the wide-mouth version of this, it is much more universal.

5 Stars

The Best! August 26, 2011

, TX

I have used The People's Brew Basket for years. It is my favorite way to make a cup of tea. Fits my cup perfectly and never disappoints.

4 Stars

Easy to use July 08, 2011

Kendra Rubeck

Muskegon, MI

This was my first time using a full leaf tea and this Brew Basket was easy to use ( especially for first timers like me), left no metal taste. A couple little leaves came through but nothing major. It fit almost all my cups no problem!

5 Stars

Perfect tea time companion June 22, 2011

Nina M. Williams

Garland, TX

I used my newly purchased tea basket this evening for my pot of tea and I'm so glad I decided to buy this particular style. It's flexible, light weight, attractive and it isn't going to leave an aftertaste.